Question of the week? Defending Anime

15 Nov

Well fellow otaku I think it will be nice if we have a question of the week relating to our hobbie or lifestyle. So here is this question of the week.

Has anybody try to defend their love for anime to a complete stranger or a loved one. If so then how? 

Why?

Why?

5 Responses to “Question of the week? Defending Anime”

  1. ninja1011 November 16, 2008 at 5:04 am #

    cant say i have, just random correcting of people….
    like when people say “u watching Chinese cartoons?”
    i be like no Japanese animation u mofugin ass crack

  2. Eduardo .C November 16, 2008 at 7:04 am #

    I have:
    My mom thought I was a Pope or a Rabbi because I purchase the Byakuya cosplay outfit. Well the funny story is that the outfit arrived at my job without my name on it. You can guess what happen….
    Ok Fine here is the story…
    My boss opened the package and saw the outfit and he was like “What the hell is this?” Since the outfit hat a Japanese symbol in the back they took it to the nearest expert which was the Chinese food restaurant. The guy told them that the symbol in the back was the number 6 not being satisfied with that answer they took it to another expert the owner of a Laundromat. Now my outfit was being paraded around for a good 3 days without me knowing. Until I found my outfit near some boxes and asked my co-worker what was this? I looked at the package and my face turn red and asked; why is it open? They gave me the whole back story.
    I felt violated.
    However I kicked ass at Anime Boston 2008 using my real hair

  3. Eduardo .C November 16, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    Oh snap I forgot to continue:
    Well I had to explain what a Shinigami is to my mom , my father and people who saw my outfit. And yes all the guys asked me about what is up with tentecle hentai and lolis. The things we do for the things we love!!!

  4. ninja1011 November 16, 2008 at 11:37 pm #

    nice nice

  5. Sonofadiva February 9, 2009 at 10:39 pm #

    I have had to explain to a few people….or rather CORRECT a few people when the call anime “cartoons. I say “uh no…Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Mickey Mouse…those are cartoons. These are anime”. By that time I’m ready to slip on a heel and deal with them. And they see the look in my eyes and back down. Luckily, my friends (The Asylum) understand my world and some even partake of it. Back home there aren’t any events for cosplaying so I’ve never had as interesting a story as Ed’s. Just the random ignorance that comes along with people who think that anything animated is only for kids.

Leave a Reply

