Cosplay Anyone?

7 May

Hey people!

Has anyone been interested in Cosplay lately? One of the most important things to consider about Cosplay is TIME. Time as we all know, is very important. As we all are closer to finishing our semester this spring, summer will eventually come… And we, anime fans/otaku, know what that means. It’s Anime Convention time! It is our paradise, where we all otaku have something in common, our interests and zeal for Japanese culture and of course, anime. All that becomes unleashed in many manners, and one of them being cosplay.

Cosplay has been the huge craze between unimaginable number anime fans out there, all over the world.  There are even very talented cosplayers that become renowned due to their detailed work on their costumes and accurate props. And cosplay not only serves as a medium to express our fandom for certain character/series, it is a way to communicate and break boundaries such as age and gender.

For my part, being a cosplayer is enjoyable, it is a way to be someone else, an opportunity to learn stuff and meet new people. When I first started, I was very very shy and almost felt ridiculous on putting on a costume, even though it was not Halloween, and it was a closet cosplay(because it is frowned upon by cosplayers). But it was fun as people recognize your character, recognizes your efforts, and asks for a pic of your costume/cosplay, and that beats everything: frustration, tiredness, shame, etc. As time went by, I learned many things through cosplay, sewing, knowledge on fabrics, prop making, and rekindled my old interest in crafts.

Not long ago me and my friend, Shelley, started a Cosplay crew blog called Keiki Cosplay Crew or KCC. Keiki is the japanese romanization for the word “cake.” We address ourselves with names of cakes, Shelley as “Napoleon”, and me as “Creampuff.” We decided to blog our progress in cosplay and share our experiences with the world. Though we are only a Cosplay duo now, we plan to recruit more people to form a cosplay group. Feel free to follow us in our quest, click here. Its sweet, I swear. Just like Cakes. =D

On a side note, I would like to propose an idea! If anyone is interested in cosplaying and do not know what to cosplay, why not start with something simple? We should revive a legend, PACMAN. If anyone likes this idea of cosplaying Pacman and the ghosts, please leave a comment below~! Then we can plan cosplay workshops!

Awesome Pacman Cosplay

-AJ

5 Responses to “Cosplay Anyone?”

  1. Shelley May 9, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    I want to be a ghost! I don’t know what color yet cause I have to check my left over stash!

    • solsticeciela May 26, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      Lol Me too, I need to check on my left over fabric… xD

  2. arshtatsuade May 23, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    goodluck on your cosplay group! ^___^
    and cosplaying pacman sounds nice

    • solsticeciela May 26, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

      Thanks!
      I knoow~ Pacman is so awesome!

  3. bleach cosplay February 24, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    This made me chuckle.

Leave a Reply

