From The Bizarre Ashes: Pokemon Fan Video

21 Sep

Hello loyal club members,

At the behest of the club president I am here to inform you of a video that has made it’s way on to youtube recently. Now while I am quite sure this is just a fan made trailer and no movie will be made (similar to the Legend of Zelda trailer that aired on April Fools Day a few years back), it still is a good topic of discussion.

Now I will be the first to admit when I watched this my initial reaction was something along the lines of “Oh my God, what is this piece of garbage?” and “Are you kidding me?” Just the normal what kind of stupidity is this kind of thinking. But once I stopped and analyzed it a bit, I realized that it had an interesting albeit extremely strange premise. The idea of these underground pokemon battles is such a far cry from the original cartoon it seems ridiculous. The trailer itself was extremely well made (even to the point that some people thought the trailer was legitimate). However this concept is not without problems. While it may escape the usual problems attributed to live-action movies it probably won’t. I doubt I have to remind any of you about some previous live-action movies that turned out horribly (which were so bad that even people, like me, who don’t know much about movies know about how bad they were. These include Dragonball Evolution, Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li and the recently released The Last Airbender). Would this one have turned out like the others? I can’t say. It looked decent enough. There were some issues; I might need to watch it again myself but the pokemon themselves seemed poorly done (to be fair I don’t know how hard it is to make it; even going under the assumption that it mas either physically made which I find unlikely or was done with computer graphics).

That’s my take on this. What do you think? Feel free to tell me if I am spot on or a mile away.

So until next time; rising up from the bizarre ashes,

Your loyal club secretary

JojosOBJECTION

Seth Tobias Zeltzer

One Response to “From The Bizarre Ashes: Pokemon Fan Video”

  1. Maya September 22, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Hi,

    I’m writing from Brooklyn College magazine, and we wanted to do an article about your club. Could you please contact me at mayarock@gmail.com?

    All the best,
    Maya

Leave a Reply

