From The Bizarre Ashes: The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

9 Oct

As I mentioned in my previous post. The panel most of the club attended had the New York premiere of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya. I was not thrilled when I decided to attend the panel. I only went because almost all my friends who attended the first day were going and I usually follow the crowd. My train of thought was pretty much this: I haven’t watched the series (The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) and thus I will probably not enjoy the movie. The movie had a pretty slow beginning and this only reinforced my displeasure (especially once I realized the panel was scheduled to go from 8 to 10PM). Fortunately the movie picked up pretty quickly. The plot was extremely interesting and there was a perfect mix of seriousness and humor. There were parts that caused most of the audience to laugh (myself included) and others that made me forget that my mouth was agape. The plot got a little convoluted and I also didn’t understand every last thing (especially since I haven’t watched The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) but in the end it didn’t take all that much away from the movie. Near the end I was near tears (just at the threshold but not tears surfaced) one moment and laughing the next. That (in my opinion) is not an easy feat. All in all the movie was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone who like anime whether or not they have watched The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. Some may disagree with me but I am usually not that hard to please. Watching this movie was a great end to an amazing day.

So until next time; rising up from the bizarre ashes,

Your dedicated club secretary

JojosOBJECTION

Seth Tobias Zeltzer

Leave a Reply

