From The Bizarre Ashes: New York Anime Festival/New York Comic Con Convention Report Part 3

11 Oct

Welcome readers to the last installment of my Convention Report,

This should be a short piece. I would just like to discuss the bits going into the con.

Mostly it involved going to Staples and making a large over sized print out of the OBJECTION! vector about a month before NYAF. Then a few weeks later (the weekend before NYAF) I ran over to Staples and bought the larger size foam board so I could mount the print out on something. I bought wooden sticks to tape together to use as a handle.

The other bit that I should have been involved with that I wasn’t was getting the badges early. That ended up falling into the laps of the other executive members of the club. That included traveling to Image Anime and getting jerked around by the college waiting on the check to pay for a decent amount of the badge cost (this was for not only me but about 9 other people).

Finding food/drinks is not very difficult at all. There is a full food court in the Javits center and a plethora of vending machines. However like any center or stadium the food is criminally overpriced. There are cheaper (and probably unhealthier) alternatives. There is a McDonalds, Five Guys, Subway and many restaurants (which I am sure is more expensive than the con food).

My advice is this: Make sure you eat a good, big breakfast to try and make it through most of the day and either bring a bottle of water or buy one from the vending machine and keep it. Fill it up for free water wherever you are.

A bit more advice: Try to do everything you can in order to not get sick right before a con. I started coming down with a bug and attending a con while sick is not very pleasant.

The last thing I can offer is this: Make sure you have something to do. Anything that you might enjoy, either visit panels, hit up booths in the dealer’s room, check out the artist alley, even do something as simple as hang out with friends. Hell even make new friends or meet people you’ve met on the internet. Spending 6 hours in the dealer’s room on day one felt like nothing since I was constantly walking around looking at booths, meeting up with friends and even meeting some of my online friends for the first time in real life.

So finally parting ways with NYAF/NYCC all I can say is this (courtesy of Uncle Yo; let’s hope I quoted this correctly): live, laugh and glomp.

So until next time; rising up from the bizarre ashes,

Your thorough club secretary,

JojosOBJECTION

Seth Tobias Zeltzer

Me and my online friends.

4 Responses to “From The Bizarre Ashes: New York Anime Festival/New York Comic Con Convention Report Part 3”

  1. avg October 16, 2010 at 4:53 am #

    we gon’ party tonight

  2. pc games 10 October 20, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Wow! Thank you! I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your
    post to my blog?

  3. pc spiele October 20, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    Hi, i just thought i’d post and let you know your blogs layout is really messed up on the K-Melonbrowser. Anyhow keep up the good work.

  4. branchenverzeichnis online October 23, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

